Visión del Futuro

Visión del futuro

Visión del futuro

Well, its been a very long haul but I’ve finally finished the Handless Maiden series 🙂 Its been an incredible journey and I’ve learnt an vast amount both about myself and about painting. I know there is a huge amount I still have to learn but that’s the fun of it all and I feel happy and very optimistic about where the journey goes from here! Can’t wait to begin, but perhaps just a teensy rest first?

Bueno, ha sido un largo recorrido pero por fin, he terminado la serie de la Doncella Manca 🙂 Ha sido un viaje increible y he aprendido un montón tanto sobre mi mismo como sobre el acto de pintar. Sé que todavía me queda mucho para aprender ¡pero eso es lo bueno! Me siento contenta y optimísta contemplando a donde voy a partir de ahora. Casi no puedo esperar para empezar pero ¿quizás primero una siestacita?

4 Comments »

  1. Robyn said

    The Journey

    One day you finally knew
    what you had to do, and began,
    though the voices around you
    kept shouting
    their bad advice —
    though the whole house
    began to tremble
    and you felt the old tug
    at your ankles.
    “Mend my life!”
    each voice cried.
    But you didn’t stop.
    You knew what you had to do,
    though the wind pried
    with its stiff fingers
    at the very foundations,
    though their melancholy
    was terrible.
    It was already late
    enough, and a wild night,
    and the road full of fallen
    branches and stones.
    But little by little,
    as you left their voices behind,
    the stars began to burn
    through the sheets of clouds,
    and there was a new voice
    which you slowly
    recognized as your own,
    that kept you company
    as you strode deeper and deeper
    into the world,
    determined to do
    the only thing you could do —
    determined to save
    the only life you could save.

    ~ Mary Oliver ~

  2. Thank you so much Robyn! That’s exactly it 🙂 The hairs on my arms stood on end and I felt shivers down my spine as I read your perfect quote. I’ve never read any Mary Oliver but now I feel compelled to!

  3. Shayla said

    There are many elements I love here. The little girl, how her posture works with the composition and is mirrored in the arms of the women, the movement, doves, apples and colors. I’m glad your journey of discovery was so enriching.

  4. ‘how her posture works with the composition and is mirrored in the arms of the women’

    Hey thanks Shayla, I hadn’t noticed that I’d done that! That’s what is so great about sharing my work with other people, they show you things about it I hadn’t seen myself!

    I’m so glad you like it, its one of my favourites too. I was so relieved to see my story had a happy ending!

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

