In the Process – Metido dentro del Proceso

Handless Maiden 4 stage 4

Handless Maiden 4 stage 4

One of the interpretations of the Handless Maiden story is that it is about finding or reconnecting with the creative process and this is one of the reasons the story appealed to me so much. What I hadn’t counted on was how much the process of interpreting the story was going to affect both my work and my way of working. As I work through the series I can see uncanny parallels between what is happening in the story and what is happening to my painting.

I began, like the maiden, tentative and unsure, not knowing how to really reach the force within me, easily distracted by devilish temptations; Then came the hands-on-hips defiance when the wild self reasserted herself and began to play a more ambitious game. Now I am in the stage of mining the subconscious, cutting off from the world around me and really starting to become the painting-self I knew I had the potential to be…This is reflected by a new freedom with the paint, putting large areas of it on with a palette knife instead of a brush with all the speed, movement, texture – and blissful enjoyment! – that this allows me.

Who knows where the last three stages will take me?

Handless Maiden 3, stage 5

Handless Maiden 3, stage 5

Unas de las interpretaciones del relato de La Doncella Manca es que se trata de buscar o volver a conectar con el proceso creativo y esta es una de las razones que me lo llamó la atención tanto, este cuento. Con lo que no me ha contado, es cuanto el proceso de interpretar el relato iba a afectar tanto mi obra como mi manera de trabajar en ella. Mientras trabajo con la serie, veo paralelos misteriosos entre lo que pasa en el relato y lo que está pasando en mi obra.

Empecé, como la doncella, tentativa y sin confianza, sin saber como realmente conectar con la fuerza dentro y ¡fácilmente distraída por tentaciones diabólicas! Luego vino la época de resistencia cuando el yo salvaje empezó a reafirmarse y jugar un juego más ambicioso. Ahora me encuentro en la etapa de profundizar en el subconsciente, cortando mis lazos con el mundo exterior y empezando de ser realmente la pintora que siempre me lo cree capaz. Esto se ve reflejado en una nueva soltura con la pintura – aplicando grandes extensiones con una espátula en vez de pincel con todo la velocidad, movimiento y textura que esto me permite.

¿Quién sabe adonde me arrastrarán las últimas tres etapas?

(Si eres hispanohablante y te gustaría ayudarme traducir mi blog a español, por favor, déjame un mensaje 🙂 )

Leave a Reply

