Ways of Being in the Studio


On my work table at the moment is my first altered book which I call “Ways of Being”. Its based on a list of phrases and ideas that I’ve collected because they help put me in the right mindset for creating. The list was getting longer and longer and I didn’t really know what to do with it. Somewhow storing it in a text document just didn’t cut the mustard. Then I was inspired by my sculptor friend Robyn who was doing an altered book using quotations. I’ve been hankering after doing an altered book for a while but I was wary of beginning a new project as I tend to put myself in an overload situation quite easily. Finding the perfect book to use tipped the balance. It is a book on jewellery making that my better half bought me when he was back in the UK one time. That was in the days before RSI curtailed my jewellery-making career and I began to make art instead. What could be more fitting than to transform a book that was no longer useful into something inspiring for my current path? Plus the book is well-made with a sturdy hardback cover…and some interesting photos that in places I plan to leave revealed…

Check out my first few pages in my Picassa Album

1 Comment »

  1. Robyn said

    I always get quite a start when I see my name in print….but a nice one. I love this page Cherry and your handwriting is so even and legible.

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

