Bouquet of Barbed Wire

Bouquet of Barbed Wire

Bouquet of Barbed Wire 24 x 33cm
Stage 2: Glue gun concept drawing covered with collage

‘The pretty, initial position which falls short of completeness is not to be valued—except as stimulus for further moves.’

“Notes to Myself on Beginning a Painting” By Richard Diebenkorn, (American Painter, 1922-1993)

http://www.paintercreativity.com/articles/diebenkornnotestomyself.html

Perhaps because of this inspiring phrase, somehow today I woke up and it had become clear what I needed to do regarding applying collage to my ‘concept drawings’.

I began feverishly pasting my magazine scraps onto one of the ‘drawings’ using acrylic medium which is my new and beloved adhesive of choice. I really enjoyed the way the acrylic medium let me mould the paper over the glue gun drawing beneath, giving me a lovely textured, evocative surface…I hadn’t ‘lost’ my drawing after all!

Leave a Reply

