Better late than never

Scuola Grande San Rocco

10 x 15 cm Direct Line to Heaven
Well I finally put up on Flickr the tiny sketchbook collages I did while I was in Italy. Why on earth did it take me so long? Check them out on the Flickr link below. I have now used up all my free Flickr sets and am considering buying a pro account so I can have unlimited sets. Since I don’t have another set to put up right now, I thought I might postpone the decision until I do. That way, if I make a series of pieces I am really pleased with, I can treat myself to the Flickr account as a reward.

My next series is going to be seven pieces based on a story from ‘Mujeres que corren con los lobos’ (‘Women who run with the wolves’) called La Doncella Manca (The handless maiden). I’m hoping to use a variety of mixed media – techniques primarily acrylic paint and collage on board – and in a freer way than I have until now with ad hoc layers of paper, paint, glue gun…and whatever else takes my fancy. Can’t wait to get started but promised myself I would finish all my incompleted projects before beginning a new one. My target date for finishing these is a week today, my birthday 14th March.

I then have quite a bit of prep work to do before beginning the pieces themselves as I need to read through all the parts of the story again (7 parts, 7 collages – my lucky number!) and the commentaries that go with them ; then brainstorm each part; then do a ‘concept drawing’ for each part; then look for some collage material for each part and then I should be more than ready to begin the actual paintings.

1 Comment »

  1. […] Doncella Manca’ in Mujeres que corren con los lobos* by Clarissa Pinkola Estes – see Better late than never) I could really exploit the idea of torn edges as a metaphor for layers and divisions. This started […]

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

